rthstewart: (Default)
rthstewart ([personal profile] rthstewart) wrote2019-01-11 07:13 pm

Snowflake Challenge Days 9, 10 and 11

Woops, so I fell behind. More on why in the next post but he's yellow, is a heavy breather, and weighs 90 pounds/41 kg. Also, I had some problems with this one, actually.

Day 9
Commit an Act of Kindness.

I'm not super comfortable with this. I've tried to be a good friend to some people. I've tried to write things that might cheer them up (with more to come). I've baked for my spousal unit and the office "Cookie Friday" and for spawn and spawn's voracious friends. As will reported in the next post, we adopted out a big 5 year old Labrador and gave him a new forever home. None of this is truly altruistic because I get something out of all of it. Maybe sponsoring the Three Sentence Ficathon exept I get a lot out of that too.

Day 10
Create a fanwork.


So there are things in the works and I'll try to get more 3SFs done and I posted a couple of Star Wars Legends things (Mara, it's always Mara). But something that was supposed to happen yesterday but did happen today and will be posted on Monday is that I read an excerpt of King Under the Mountain for the SyFy Fandom Files podcast!! The host, Jordan, said it should go up on Monday morning! So, I'm pretty excited about that!

Day 11
In your own space, talk about your creative process(es) — anything from the initial inspiration to how you feel after something’s done. Do you struggle with motivation or is it a smooth process? Do you have any tricks up your sleeve to pull out when a fanwork isn’t cooperating? What is your level of planning to pantsing/winging it?


Eh. Two things, though I'm always happy to talk process if anyone is interested. First, hubris. What has been my major impetus every time to launch headlong into fanfic is the "wow, I can do better than that" and "Really? No way. That's not how it's supposed to happen at all." And off I go, pedal to the metal.

Second, once I'm wallowing in a creative behemoth, I am hugely, enormously influenced by reader comments and feedback. The question from a reader, "well what about that character?" Or "tell me more about what this character is doing" or "how did that happen?" has, truly, launched hundreds of thousands of words of additional fic.

In sum, I am a highly reactive writer.




redrikki: Orange cat, year of the cat (Default)

[personal profile] redrikki 2019-01-12 01:34 am (UTC)(link)
About that act of kindness thing, don't stress it if you get something out of it too. Kindness isn't about being selfless. It's about doing something to make someone's day just a little bit better. All the stuff you mentioned sounds pretty kind indeed.
booksarelife: Tilted photo of Peggy Carter's head, shoulders and torso, where she is wearing a navy dress with two red stripes across the middle (Default)

[personal profile] booksarelife 2019-01-12 10:06 pm (UTC)(link)
Seconded!
yalumesse: (Default)

[personal profile] yalumesse 2019-01-12 01:51 am (UTC)(link)
Cookies = love. And the 3SF was definitely an act of kindness. Thank you!

...knowing that you're a reactive writer suddenly makes it feel very... like there's a responsibility involved in asking you questions. Not sure if that's a bad/good/neutral thing.
yalumesse: (Default)

[personal profile] yalumesse 2019-01-12 03:34 am (UTC)(link)
No no don't be sorry! I meant more that I never tend to think that my comments will go anywhere, nor do I mean them to. My comments on a fic are offhand thoughts, things I think the author might be interested to hear they've sparked or just because I talk and it's a thing that's said. That it might spark something for you is awesome and I'm sure you'd never write something if you didn't want to.

Just a misunderstanding :) "Responsibility" was the wrong word but I was struggling to articulate myself better. I suppose I meant... something like, if you tend to get dragged away by the galloping horses of new ideas, throwing heaps of them at you might be unkind given how many things most of us are trying to write at any given time. But that didn't make it clear that of course you're perfectly able to decide what you're going to spend your time on.
Edited 2019-01-12 03:37 (UTC)
psyche29: A brown eye with rainbow eyeliner all around it (Default)

[personal profile] psyche29 2019-01-12 05:20 am (UTC)(link)
All are acts of kindness. Don't let the fact that you get things out of them make them less than they are. ♥♥♥
ultra_fic: (Default)

[personal profile] ultra_fic 2019-01-12 08:58 am (UTC)(link)
On the whole act of kindness thing - you're allowed to feel good about doing something nice. There was an episode of Friends once where Phoebe fought to find a truly selfless act and it was just impossible. It doesn't make it not a kind thing just because you're glad that you did it :)

Hubris definitely leads me to write a lot of my fics too. Some people have great ideas but the execution is just... well, not how I want it to be and I feel I can do better! lol Probably not my best character trait, but I really like things my way, and I really do tend to think my way is the right way... and because of that, I wouldn't say I'm as influenced by reviews, in the sense that I won't change a story because of what people say, but it has happened that I write spin offs and sequels and such because people have asked 'What about this?' or 'Can we have more?'
corvidology: ([WORDS] BAD MUSE)

[personal profile] corvidology 2019-01-12 07:17 pm (UTC)(link)
It's good to meet another "reactive" writer. I've lost track of the number of things I've written for the same reason.