rthstewart: (Default)
rthstewart ([personal profile] rthstewart) wrote2020-12-29 04:11 pm
Entry tags:

The Expanse, up to Season 5, episode 4 -- spoilers!

So, what do you all think? 

Spoilers below the cut.

Were you expecting the rocks to fall like that?  I loved the book Nemesis Games in part because it's the first time the Roci crew splits up and we get the points of view of more of the crew, including Naomi, Amos and Alex for the first time.  It also gives us just an incredible villain in Marco and a great deal of sympathy with the Belter cause.

Some thoughts of my own.
1.  I loved that they cast Jacob Mundell who, like Erich, the character he plays, is disabled.  I thought they would have green-screened Erich's arm, but it's Mundell's own.  I loved Mundell's performance.

2.  In the book, we don't know Marco's plan, so when they fall, it's a huge shock.  I see why they did what they did, but I'm not sure I love it more.  I don't hate it.

3.  Something the series had done consistently is give the main characters a foil to talk to, particularly Chrisjen (Cortyar, Bobbie, Arjun) and Fred (Drummer).  With those characters gone, they've put others in their place and I don't think either are very compelling.  I can't even remember the General/Admiral's name and Bull -- who was a great character in Book 3 I actively dislike here.

4. In the books, we don't see Cortzar, the made protomolecule scientist at all until much much later.  I liked how they brought him in earlier and have clearly linked up the scientist and the blue goo heist -- and LOVED that oh so nasty robot.

5.  Last season, Naomi told Lucia about the Augustin Gamarra and how she'd been part of the murder of over 500 people.  Amos walks by the memorial when he lands on Luna.

6.  and speaking of Amos, his interaction with Chrisjen was AMAZING but the book is even better.  I'm glad they kept most of it.  They've been building up their relationship -- the walking in pumps, the what was she wearing -- and so the payoff was delightful. 

7.  Book Peaches- Clarissa -- is really thin and waif like and Nadine Nicole is a much more substantial person.  I'm looking forward to seeing where that goes.

8.  Fred dies.  Wow.  Did not see that coming -- it happens later and differently in the books, but now I wonder if maybe they'll bring Drummer back to Tycho?  As if she needs another reason to hate Marco.  And, of course, I love that they took the Michio Pa polyamorous pirate queen character from the book and gave that all to Drummer because Drummer's arc, as developed over time by Cara Gee has been wonderful.  But I have a harder time seeing Drummer as romantic, or vulnerable at all?  As played, she always struck me as very ace.  But, eh.  I'm just happy to see the happy poly space pirate Belter family.

9.  LOVED the scene with Naomi and Marco where, in that very compact space, we see so much of Marco's character.  The whole thing where he deliberately cuts down Filip (and OMG, Filip's casting??) because sometimes boys need their mothers and he raises his voice so everyone hears?  The whole thing where 3 of the 6 rocks are taken out and so he declares total victory with the 3?  Yeah, total Marco, ALWAYS moving the goalposts that define victory.

10.  A more meta point about Naomi.  As played by Dom Tipper, she was always more forceful than in the books.  One of the show runners even said that book Naomi is always hiding behind her hair and that's not something Dom Tipper would ever do.  They are different portrayals.  I like very much how book Naomi comes into her own but I love this portrayal too.

11.  Savaterre?  Do you think he's the Martian head of it all?  In Bobbie's chart, there was someone higher up.  What do you think?

Which just underscores something I so love about the books and adaptation.   I can swing back and forth between them.  I love some book things more -- most of Caliban's War and Abadon's Gate, for instance.  But I love how Anna, Chrisjen, Cortazar, Bobbie, comes in earlier.  I love that they got rid of Elvi's weird Holden infatuation and at no point am I genuinely disappointed that something from the books didn't make it on the screen.  LARM reminded me that the whole Miller kissing Julie and her crawling across the floor was really gross and I agree with that.  But I really don't have many moments of Faramir being tempted by the Ring.  Or, you know, all of Percy Jackson or Artemis Fowl or a lot of the Prince Caspian and Dawn Treader movies.  You know those moments where you're screaming at the screen. 

So, what do you think?
vialethe: (River face)

[personal profile] vialethe 2020-12-30 02:00 am (UTC)(link)
My thoughts are much less organized than yours! Mostly I was just happy to find I loathed Marco just as much onscreen as I did on the page - I'm not sure I've ever hated a fictional character more. You're dead on about the way the scene with Naomi and Filip showed so much of exactly who he is and how he operates.

I was also shocked about Fred! I wonder if they wanted something more for Holden to do this season, since his book plot is not quite as exciting as the others, for the most part. I like the guy, but I did laugh a lot when he got punched in the face by that robot.

I'm loving Drummer's arc - I figured that since she'd taken Michio's role from the books previously, this would be more or less what they'd do with her, but I was super pleased to see the poly marriage make it in. Show Drummer always struck me as the kind of person who desperately wants to avoid any connections and wants to keep herself cold and separate, where it's safe - but is also very capable of strong feeling, and creating intense bonds, like with Ashford, even if it's unwillingly. So the more romantic/sexual angle on it doesn't bother me, though I can see where you're coming from.

They have made Bull really unlikeable, haven't they? I don't remember him being quite that much of a bigot in the books, though it's been a while since I read Abbadon's Gate. It did make me laugh when I was trying to explain to my bf that show!Drummer was a conglomeration of several characters from the books, and she's currently in someone else's role, so her book 5 role is being played by the guy whose role she partially took from book 3...except he died in that book. It's very confusing!
vialethe: (River face)

[personal profile] vialethe 2020-12-30 07:46 am (UTC)(link)
You are probably right about Bull, sadly. Or not so sadly, if he continues being written the way he has been!

I thought about Drummer a bit more after I wrote my first comment, and realized that while I do see her as someone who'd enjoy sex quite a lot and happily use it to take off the edge, her turn into someone who's comfortable with romance and commitment does feel a lot more abrupt. They're trying hard to do the work by painting it as related to her loss of Ashford & related loss of purpose, but it's a little thin.

I'm interested to see where they go too. I haven't finished the books yet (I stopped partway through 7, because I was reading them in March and, well, I didn't need more stress and depression in my life), but I know what you're referring to. It would be hard for them to fit in everything, for sure.

I'm excited to see how Clarissa comes off in the show - I liked her sister much better, as everyone who knows me knows - but I learned to tolerate her in the books. Must be Amos's influence!
graveexcitement: Snake from 999 (Default)

[personal profile] graveexcitement 2020-12-30 06:25 am (UTC)(link)
1. yeah!! the expanse is pretty good with casting, so that was pleasing to see

2. i see what they were trying to do with regards to tragically giving avasarala the information she needs right when it's too late (while still giving her a chance to prevent further tragedy.) i appreciate that, but i still think i like the total shock of the rocks falling in the book better.

3. bull!! why did they make bull such a douche? i was excited to see him because i really like book bull and i was annoyed that they adapted him out/replaced him in season 3, but... show bull just seems like an asshole? :( why

8. yeah, the decision to kill fred off earlier was interesting! also i'm very glad to see the poly space pirate family included!

9. yesss the marco characterization was great, i loved that moving-the-goalposts declaration -- that's so marco!

i definitely did not miss elvi being infatuated with holden, glad they got rid of that. the one thing i genuinely missed from the books was, again, that they didn't adapt bull in the Abaddon's Gate storyline in the show (and that he's a douche now T_T though maybe he'll get character development? we can hope).
graveexcitement: Snake from 999 (Default)

[personal profile] graveexcitement 2021-01-03 05:53 am (UTC)(link)
yeah, it just feels a little weird cause Drummer was given Bull's book 3 plot, and now she has Michio Pa's book 6 plot, while Michio Pa is just along for the ride and Bull is given Drummer's book 5 plot, i think? wild

as for where they're going to end this season... probably in a similar place to where Book 5 ended? but it's hard to say -- have to wonder how different Season 6 will be from Book 6, because Book 6 has *so many* POV characters, and since this is the final season... who knows!

(I hope Prax comes back next season tho, since he's a POV in book 6! I just don't know if they'll decide his plot is important enough ;;)
colls: (EXP Anna)

[personal profile] colls 2020-12-30 03:45 pm (UTC)(link)
Not reading behind the cut because I'm behind, but looking forward to catching up with The Expanse!! Yay!